RSS

The Binge…

20 Oct

Every once in awhile we have cravings, every once in awhile we allow ourselves a time to binge. To eat what you want, in moderate amounts of course, and shock some sense back into your system. Don’t let anyone talk you into believing that this is not ok. It is perfectly normal. If you don’t do this, then you’re continuing to starve your body of what it needs, and what you want, and the cravings just get worse. Trust me.

My sister has been home for a visit for a week and a half now, she leaves this Saturday, completeing an entire two week vacation at home. It has been lovely having her around, but not so lovely for my waistline. So this time with her, has been my binge. But let me tell you, I have NOT binged the entire two weeks. Just a little here and there.

My sister has a few traditions every time she comes home, much like I did when I lived abroad too. She must have her favourite carrot cake from Dan Ryan’s – it is to die for. So after suggesting we go for coffee and pick up the carrot cake to go so she could enjoy it over a few days from the comfort of the sofa, we decided to have it there, complete with a tall glass of sweet iced tea. Now I couldn’t really sit there and watch her eat the whole thing now could I? This sweet, moist cake complete with cream cheese frosting is the perfect accompaniment to a tall glass of sweet iced tea with fresh lemon. Heavenly!

My second indulgent treat came on sunday afternoon, at lunch with my mum and my sister. Some quality bonding time, combined with retail therapy and dim sum. Oh I do love dim sum. Most of it is made with rice flour and steamed with vegetables, so it’s not *that* bad…

My third, and hopefully final (I’m not sure, still got 4 days left with my sister in town), was an excessively indulgent 3 hour, 3-course dinner complimented with 2 beers. The ultimate indulgence in comparison to how I have been prior to this. Beginning with lobster nachos (less cheese, more lobster), and salt and pepper crispy calamari, followed by pan fried snapper with creamy mash and roasted vegetables, followed by the most amazing Banoffee Pie EVER. Overlooking the waterfront, and watching fireworks being set off in the distance, it was a perfect end to my long weekend, and I don’t feel the least bit guilty for it.

What I do know is that as of Saturday it will be hard-core training back at the gym and seriously healthy eating, because now, I do feel incredibly exhausted after eating so much, and lots of fatty foods, but you know what? Sometimes, it’s worth it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 20, 2009 in Chocolate, Dessert, Exercise, Food, Indulge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Binge…

  1. jonnygetsfit

    October 20, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Banoffee Pie is the dog’s!

    I’m hungry after reading your post.

    Keep fit,

    Jonny

     

Leave a Reply

 
