As promised, as I try different cheeses out I am posting my thoughts and this one particularly disturbed me. I recently purchased Simply Better Foods SoyCheese – Garden Herb. And as I mentioned previously I thought it contained Casein. Turns out I was right. I should be in better habit of reading ingredients when I purchase products, but I was in a bit of a rush as all of us tend to be sometimes and I picked it up thinking “Great! A flavoured soy cheese let’s try it!” Bad move.
For those of you who don’t know, Casein is a protein predominantly found in cows milk, and hence is also found in cheese (the non-vegan kind). As it exists in milk, it is a salt of calcium. Casein is not coagulated by heat., but is precipitated by acids and by rennet enzymes, a proteolytic enzyme typically obtained from the stomachs of calves.
Casein is therefore not vegan, as it is derived from milk, but is vegetarian. But forgive my stupidity, why create a soy cheese if it’s not vegan? Entirely pointless.
I did end up trying this out anyway though, seeing as I bought it, a taster.
The Verdict: UGHHHHHHHH. It was NOT what I expected and will NOT be on the shopping list EVER again. In fact, I’m not sure I’ll eat the rest of it. What a waste.
So the lesson learnt here – ALWAYS read the ingredients, never shop in a rush unless you know EXACTLY what you’re buying.