RSS

For the love of Cheese…Soy Cheese of course (Part 2)

25 Nov

Simply Better Foods: SoyCheese - Garden Herbs

As promised, as I try different cheeses out I am posting my thoughts and this one particularly disturbed me. I recently purchased Simply Better Foods SoyCheese – Garden Herb. And as I mentioned previously I thought it contained Casein. Turns out I was right. I should be in better habit of reading ingredients when I purchase products, but I was in a bit of a rush as all of us tend to be sometimes and I picked it up thinking “Great! A flavoured soy cheese let’s try it!” Bad move.

For those of you who don’t know, Casein is a protein predominantly found in cows milk, and hence is also found in cheese (the non-vegan kind). As it exists in milk, it is a salt of calcium. Casein is not coagulated by heat., but is precipitated by acids and by rennet enzymes, a proteolytic enzyme typically obtained from the stomachs of calves.

Casein is therefore not vegan, as it is derived from milk, but is vegetarian. But forgive my stupidity, why create a soy cheese if it’s not vegan? Entirely pointless.

I did end up trying this out anyway though, seeing as I bought it, a taster.

The Verdict: UGHHHHHHHH. It was NOT what I expected and will NOT be on the shopping list EVER again. In fact, I’m not sure I’ll eat the rest of it. What a waste.

So the lesson learnt here – ALWAYS read the ingredients, never shop in a rush unless you know EXACTLY what you’re buying.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 25, 2009 in Food, Vegan, Weight Loss

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “For the love of Cheese…Soy Cheese of course (Part 2)

  1. Cate

    December 3, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I don’t get this either! Especially as its the only soy cheese stocked in a lot of mainstream supermarkets! I can buy cheezley in the local vegan shop luckily and i really like the tofutti cream cheese 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
