RSS

For the love of…photography

02 Dec

I know what you’re thinking here: what have photographs got to do with veganism? The answer is simple: both nothing and everything. A simple photograph is worth more than a thousand words, and the same is true even when you’re talking about food-ography. You wouldn’t even consider making something if the photos accompanying it made it look unappetizing now would you?

The reason for this post is also simple. I have been thinking, and sometimes even dreaming, about my first DSLR camera, for months now. I still don’t know what I want to buy, perhaps one of you can help me? There are so many out there, I just can’t decide what to choose from and I really need some advice!!

I want a great beginners camera, but an inexpensive one because I’m unsure exactly HOW much I’ll use it. I know I want to take a few food shots so that all of you can see my lovely work without ending up with a blurry picture which has resulted from my blackberry. But I also want to be able to take the camera out in the world, whether it is to take pictures of other peoples food and drinks, or whatever.

So here’s my request for you: could you recommend a fab relatively inexpensive beginners DSLR? If not, then which one do you use to take all your fab shots?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 2, 2009 in Food, Foodography, Vegan

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “For the love of…photography

  1. Ben

    December 2, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I’ve used Canon cameras for awhile and I love them. The most basic dslr they offer right now is the EOS 1000D aka Rebel XS. I haven’t had the chance to use it, but it’s a Canon 🙂 I hope this helps.

     
  2. areyoutheresoy

    December 2, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks Ben! I’ll definitely look into it!

     
  3. Pam

    December 3, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Congrats on the foodie blogroll!

    Enjoy!

     
    • Rose

      December 4, 2009 at 8:18 am

      Thanks!

       
  4. megan

    December 3, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    i just bought the canon rebel xs. I LOVE it. I can see an immediate difference in my pictures. They’re still not great, because I know nothing about photography, and I don’t really know how to use my camera yet (i’ve had it for about a week), but I’m obsessed. I heard it was the best entry level digital SLR camera around, and so far I agree. 🙂

     
    • Rose

      December 4, 2009 at 8:23 am

      Thanks for your advice! Definately looking into it at the moment! Any idea what the difference between the XS and XSi is?

       
  5. veggienymph

    December 4, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Hey there! Congrats on the foodie blogroll.

     
    • Rose

      December 4, 2009 at 8:19 am

      Thanks for the congratulations!

       
  6. Jami

    December 6, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I’m a Nikon user and love my D40x, it’s lightweight and really easy to use and figure out. I was snapping great shots within hours of getting it home.

    http://www.kenrockwell.com/index.htm has a lot of good information regarding DSLR cameras. Also, search in Flickr and check out the images from cameras that you’re interested in.

     

Leave a Reply

 
