RSS

For the Love of Cupcakes..

20 Jan

I have been umming and ahhing about putting this recipe online. I made these AMAZING rainbow cupcakes awhile ago and everyone LOVED them, so part of me wanted to keep my recipe a secret. Something that was just mine, that everyone loved. It made me feel amazing. But then I thought I would get much more joy out of sharing my recipe, all of you trying it, and then seeing your amazing feedback.

I must confess I’m a little addicted to checking these blog stats, as much as I don’t always have a new recipe to post. Recently i’ve been getting super excited because you guys have been googling for me! I am so thankful that you love to read the rubbish I write. I hope you continue to come back for more. If nothing else, the following cupcake recipe will definately make you feel that way!

Ingredients

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 ½ cups plain soymilk
2 1/8 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
1 1/4 cups sugar
½ cup canola oil
1 ¼ tsp. vanilla extract

How we do it…

Preheat the oven to 350º
 
Place the apple cider vinegar in the bottom of a liquid measuring cup and fill the cup with soymilk to equal 1 ½ cups. Stir well and set aside (the mixture will curdle so don’t stress).

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In another mixing bowl whisk together the soymilk mixture, canola oil, and vanilla extract. Add the wet to the dry ingredients and beat until smooth using a hand-held blender.

Fill each cupcake cup with batter. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle of a cupcake comes out clean.

Let cool in the pans for 5 minutes, then remove cupcakes from the pan and place on a wire rack.

Make sure you let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

I actually used this recipe to make the following awesome rainbow cupcakes:

These are dead easy! Simply make up the batter as above, divvy up the mixture into 6 bowls. Add your colours to each individual bowl. Once you have all your colours ready simply put 1-2tsp of each colour in the cupcake cups, layer it up and then bake as directed. You’ll end up with these AMAZING looking cupcakes that taste like like, fluffy, vanilla cupcakes. Except they’re far more fun to eat.

Just ensure that when you buy your food colouring it is vegan – read the ingredients, and if you’re not sure just ask and I’ll try my best to help you!

Another trick to making these cupcakes if you don’t have time for the recipe above is to buy a pre-packaged vegan white cake mix and then add about a can of diet sprite…depending on the size of your box mix…it results in super sweet light fluffy very vegan cupcakes. Quick and easy. But don’t tell anyone else I told you to cheat!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2010 in Dessert, Recipes, Vegan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “For the Love of Cupcakes..

  1. Shilpa

    February 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    These look amazing! What brand of color do you use, and where can I buy them?

     
    • Rose

      March 3, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      Actually you can use any natural food colourings, available in any major supermarket (the ones I use I got from citysuper I think). It’s really up to you, some people prefer to use gel colours as well – they give a far deeper intensity using less quantity of colour. It is entirely up to you of course.

       
  2. banana

    May 27, 2010 at 3:27 am

    silly question, when you say you add a can of diet sprite to the vegan cake mix, is that all you add? or is that in addition to the other things the box mentions you add?

     
    • Rose

      May 31, 2010 at 10:28 am

      Just the can of diet sprite…nothing else, ignore all the other additions on the box. It really is that easy…

       
  3. nicole

    December 2, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Thank you! I’ve been wondering how vegan cake batter would hold up to being further mixed with the coloring – but didn’t have time to experiment! I am making these today for a friend’s art studio’s open house….should be perfect! 🙂

     
    • R

      December 5, 2010 at 3:51 pm

      I hope you enjoyed them nicole – let me know how they turned out 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
