RSS

For the love of Breakfast

21 Jan

Breakfast is said to be the most important meal of the day, and nutritionists have advised that skipping breakfast affects not only your concentration, but your metabolism and your weight too. However, aside from these amazing breakfast banana muffins I made before, I really struggle with finding something other than fruit or cereal with soy milk that suits my needs.

I’m honestly not a morning person so breakfast for me has to be something easy, that I can prepare in advance or something that seriously excites me.

One breakfast food I do remember from when I was younger is mum’s french toast. That smell waking up in the morning, of sugary sweetness, is absolutely heavenly. I was determined to find a vegan recipe for this all time favourite sunday breakfast just like my mum used to make..and you know what? I did!

And it’s SUPER easy!

½ cup soymilk
½ tsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp oil
¼ tsp salt
1 tbsp flour
2 tbsp cornstarch
2 tsp sugar
ground cinnamon to taste

Dip 4 slices day old bread in the mix and fry it lightly on both sides using a tiny bit of oil. See? I told you! Simple!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2010 in Breakfast, Food, Recipes, Vegan

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
