RSS

For the love of…Brownies

29 Apr

It’s been about a month since I baked anything, let alone anything worth mentioning on the blog. I’m not really sure what got into me, April has been crazy. My weekends have been filled with birthday celebrations (family, friends and my own), and weekdays have been filled with..well..work. I lead a boring life! I started getting these horrible cravings…for sweets, and no matter how many chocolate bars or how much ice cream I had it just wouldn’t do the trick, so I decided to bake.

I decided to bake the most amazing chocolate brownies I have ever tasted! (ok, so i’m boosting my own ego here but hey, I think I have a right to!)  THey were *almost* perfect – so soft and gooey on the inside, and cake-like on the outside. The only problem was they started to fall apart when I pulled them out of the tray. So they don’t look like the kind of brownies that you get in a restaurant, but they are very rustic, home cooked and full of chocolatey gooeyness…enough to satisfy anyones cravings and go perfectly with a dollop of vanilla ice cream..

Ingredients

  • 2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar (use what you wish, my preference is usually raw cane sugar..)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Method

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  • In a large bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Pour in water, vegetable oil and vanilla; mix until well blended. Spread evenly in a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  • Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until the top is no longer shiny. Let cool for at least 10 minutes before cutting into squares.
  • Ok so I didn’t follow this recipe EXACTLY, i had a little less sugar, and a little less cocoa powder, and I added a whole lot more chocolate buttons…BUT, that’s the beauty of experimenting – you do what works for you! Next time i’m probably going to add walnuts…and yes…there is going to be a next time for baking these 🙂

    The Verdict: I LOVE THEM!!!!

    R xx

    As per tradition, a photo from the handy dandy blackberry:

    They turned out to be more like Molten Chocolate Brownies when warm...still YUM!

     
    Leave a comment

    Posted by on April 29, 2010 in Baking, Chocolate, Dessert, Indulge, Recipes, Vegan

     

    Tags: , , , , , ,

    Leave a comment