RSS

Vegan Vs. Veganism

15 Mar

Before we go any further there’s one thing I’d like to clear up – the difference between a vegan diet vs. veganism on the whole.

Wikipedia tells us that Veganism is the practice of eliminating the use by human beings of non-human animal products. Ethical vegans reject the commodity status of animals and the use of animal products for any purpose, while on the other hand, dietary vegans eliminate them from the diet only.

An animal product is defined as being  any material derived from animals, including meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, dairy products, honey, fur, leather, wool, and silk. Other commonly used animal products are bone char, bone china, casein, beeswax, carmine, gelatin, isinglass, lanolin, lard, rennet, shellac, tallow, whey, and yellow grease.

I’m not going to pretend like I could cope with eliminating the use of animal products in my daily life, nor am I going to tell you that it’s ok to wear fur. I simply want to stress that everything about me, and everything about this blog are my own opinions, my own thoughts, and my own lifestyle. If it doesn’t suit you, that’s perfectly fine – I’m not going to preach to you that you simply HAVE to turn vegan because I have adopted a vegan diet.

This blog is simply a way for me to stay motivated. It certainly isn’t an easy lifestyle change, even eliminating animal products just from your diet. So please, make sure you don’t do anything that you’re not ready for and that you haven’t put some serious thought into.

Rxx

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 15, 2011 in Vegan

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Vegan Vs. Veganism

  1. Anthony

    March 15, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    Yo~ happy to know you are a vegan, you can check more vegan recipes here:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that interest you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
