RSS

Day 3: Aches and Pains

16 Mar

Who would have thought that going to the gym 2 days in a row results in aches and pains and now I feel about 40 years older than I did. I thought the whole point of this was supposed to make me feel AMAZING – I feel far from that right now! Finding the motivation to keep at it, and hoping that in time, the good feeling will come!

I guess I’ll just take it as a sign that my body is getting rid of all the bad stuff – resulting in the aches and pains!

To break from my usual natter, I thought I’d share with you two new Vegan products I’ve tasted recently:

This Nature’s Path Organic Blueberry Cinnamon Cereal is the perfect start to my morning – that hint of cinnamon is just what I need (I absolutely ADORE cinnamon) and is paired perfectly with some sliced banana and topped with soy milk:

And yes, I finally did get a camera – so no more crappy blackberry photos for you lot 🙂

The other product that I tried last night was Yves Jumbo Veggie Sausages:

– Ok, so I cheated a bit and didn’t eat them on their own, but instead had them in the most AMAZING sausage and bean casserole (Thanks Mum for making it for me so I could make my evening trip to the Gym and still eat dinner at a relatively decent hour!!) but you could still taste that smokeyness that comes from barbeque-ing real sausages – even my Dad didn’t mind the taste – the texture of these however, does leave something to be desired, it will definately take some getting used to – but on the whole I loved it – I even had the leftovers for lunch today!! 

 Ok so the photo too leaves something to be desired but trust me, it tastes MUCH better than it looks! And it’s SO simple so make, although I’m not quite sure what Mum did to make it taste extra special but the generic recipe from my wonderful sister was so simple – just sautee some onions and garlic and bay leaves, add chopped tinned tomatoes, some beans (any will do, I had cannelini beans to hand), add the sausages (sliced and cooked already), add some veggie stock and leave to simmer on the stove for 20 minutes. Alternatively you can transfer it to a casserole dish and sit it in the oven for an hour but it’s entirely up to you.

Note – I had a previous post on sausage and bean casserole when I had to figure out what to do with those Linda McCartney sausages I didn’t like..and you can read that here.

Don’t blame me if you don’t love it as much as I did, and don’t blame me if you get a bad case of the farts from all the beans!!

Rxx

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in Recipes, Vegan

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
