RSS

The Low FODMAP Vegan: Sunday Brunch

29 Jan

I had the worst experience last night having eaten dinner out – at a regular restaurant. I recently have been visiting organic, vegan restaurants – Life and Veggie SF Cafe  -where the staff are great at understanding your requirements. But last night was an experiment at a Chinese restaurant. Despite asking them for no garlic / onion – and only eating allowed greens and a minuscule amount of tofu. I don’t know what did it – but I felt awfully gassy, bloated and had to run to the loo. It was the most unpleasant experience. I am not eating out again for awhile! It just wasn’t worth it.

But this morning I was craving. I want to make banana muffins with some of the overly ripe bananas I have sitting in the kitchen, and the more I searched, the more my tummy rumbled. But my fear of last nights dinner still loomed..so what to do?

Something simple, and tasty was my solution. I had bought some everything-free rice bread the other day which  I had frozen in individual portions – 2 slices per freezer bag – So i took one of those out and started to toast the bread on low heat in the oven.

I then took one small ripe tomato and cut it into 4 thick slices, put it on a baking tray, drizzled with a tiny bit of olive oil – sprinkled some salt and pepper on it and then found some dried rosemary in the cupboard. I took maybe 1/4 tsp of rosemary and crushed it up in my fingers and sprinkled it over the tomato. I then put this in the oven at 150 degrees C for about 15 minutes.

 

I was still looking for something to add a little more flavour to this dish and then it hit me. I had a pot of fresh basil growing on my balcony looking a bit sorry for itself. So I pulled off 4 large leaves. By this time, my toast was done and I pulled my sliced tomato out of the oven – it smelled great! Simply, I layered it up – put the basil on top of the toast and the piping hot tomatoes (2 slices to each slice of bread) on top of that. It was simple but  perfect.

This is a great FODMAP friendly brunch – an open faced tomato and basil sandwich on toasted rice bread.

Rxx

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in Brunch, Gluten Free, Low FODMAP, Recipes, Vegan

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
