RSS

Daily Archives: November 17, 2009

For The Love Of…Nutritional Yeast?

So I’ve been doing some recipe research recently, trying to find new and innovative ideas for cooking, trying to make my food more exciting and everything that I seem to have come accross recently contains nutritional yeast. Now I’m still relatively new to the vegan world but every time I read it i found myself asking “what the…what is it?” I only ever new nutritional yeast to be included in the beer making process, so I thought it was about time to expand my knowledge base and I thought I would share my findings with you, hoping you are as much of a novice vegan as I am, and if not, then hopefully it would provide you with some inside knowledge you didn’t have before!

So here is what I found. I found that I was wrong about nutritional yeast being included in the beer making process, in fact it is very similar to that which is used, but nutritional yeast is made out of yeast which is cultured with sugar cane and beet molasses. This is then harvested, washed, dried and packaged.

Nutritional yeast is a protein, and a source of B vitamins. This doesn’t fill me with any kind of confidence whatsoever, I have memories of having to take multivitamins with added B12 in them – honestly it smelled revolting and tasted even worse.

I also know that nutritional yeast is used as a cheese substitute, but is it really worth it? And is it really better than the soy cheeses out on the market?

I’m really not convinced I want to try it, the thought of any of my food smelling anywhere near B12 does not exactly appeal to me. However I am eager to hear any comments you might have regarding nutritional yeast, so please feel free to comment!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2009 in Food, Recipes, Vegan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,