RSS

Daily Archives: February 17, 2012

The Low FODMAP Vegan: The Proof is in the Pudding

Facebook has been great for me recently – I joined a FODMAP intolerance support group and just having that interaction with people from all accross the globe that you wouldn’t meet otherwise, and just interacting, bouncing ideas off, sharing experiences. It really does make you feel like you’re not alone in the world when it comes to how you feel because of what you eat.

The transition to a low FODMAP diet was not easy – and still isn’t. I won’t sugar coat anything for you, sorry. It requires a huge amount of dedication, will power and above all else – organisation. You need to plan what you’re going to eat, what cravings you think you might have – stock your cupboards full of things you CAN have – and eliminate ones you can’t.

I’ve been on the low FODMAP diet for 4 weeks tomorrow. It has been an amazing journey so far, and I’m sure it will continue to be. I have had my slip-ups, with products containing dairy, wheat, processed sugars, onions, garlic and chickpeas. Let me tell you this – the suffering wasn’t worth it. I did it out of frustration sometimes, and out of the simple need to satisfy a craving other times. It has completely made me appreciate how valid the statement You Are What You Eat is. So that is my motto going forward.

After 4 weeks you would have thought this process has gotten easier – but in fact i’ve reached a stage where i’m more frustrated now at the lack of options I feel are available. But, my new targets are to become more familiar with foods I can eat before introducing ones i’m unsure about so I can do this when I’m ready and not simply just out of frustration.

The ultimate question – has this worked for me? So far yes. I feel better – more energised. The bonus? I’ve lost 2kg without even trying. No exercise. I’ve now kicked my butt in gear and hitting the gym 2-3 times a week (well, that’s the plan – i’ve been once – another 2 more times this week to go!).

Rxx


 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2012 in Low FODMAP, Vegan, Weight Loss

 

Tags: , , ,